Picture
Today is the first day of the after-school enrichment program! I am excited to begin teaching and getting to know my kids. The lessons that I have planned allow room for creativity and personal expression so that I can begin understand what values these students find important and understanding their processes of thinking. After this first week, when I will be teaching grades Pre-K through 8, I will have more of an understanding of what ideas to focus on and I can concretely map out the curriculum. This is an adventure. I'm dedicated and open to the possibilities that will be cultivated this year.  This week is a really about developing a classroom community, getting to know my students, being open about who I am, and making art together. We'll be setting up the stage for what is to come. 

I'm going to attempt to post my lesson plans at the conclusion of each week with reflections on strengths and challenges. This will both enable me to process and debrief from the week, modify my lessons for next time I teach them, and it will become a resource for other artist/teachers. 

But for now....a couple more things to prepare, and HERE. WE. GO.... ------->





Leave a Reply.