Picture
Izayah carefully painting her relief sculpture.
Picture
I think there is a lot to be learned watching really young children making art. Many of them don't have the fear yet of "messing up".  My young students care most about the art material itself. Playing and experimenting with different colors and textures. It's tactile and visual and experiential. They are always so enthusiastic to make any kind of art! 

The picture here is of my Pre K painting their straight and curved relief sculptures based off of the work of Louise Nevelson who was an American sculpture artist known for her large scale monochromatic sculptures. Her sculptures contain both straight and curved shapes. My units for this age group primarily focus on understanding and using the elements of art. Within all art we do, of course there is space for choice-making and creativity, too!

Picture
This is Anthony. 
Here he was making his straight relief sculpture. When he first showed me his idea of stacking up straws and other straight materials in order to begin to build a tower, I questioned his idea because I was worried that the materials would not be securely glued down and would collapse when we painted it following week. When he was finished he showed me again. He had carefully stack the pieces with dots of glue in between. His sculpture was solidly put together. Anthony even added a perpendicular piece to the board with a foam square at the top as a flag. He started a trend at his table and, in the end there were four relief sculptures with towers! This scenario was a reminder for me as an artist and teacher to take risks, and encourage others take risks forming new ideas as well. 




Leave a Reply.