Picture
For the next few months my students are going to be investigating large themes through various art projects and explorations. Pre K will be lead through many material explorations, becoming familiar with the properties and pushing the limits of clay, paint, drawing materials, and paper. My very lively K-1st kids will look closely at, and use, the Elements of Art and Design, 2nd and 3rd graders will focus on various ways to create a narrative with their art (my hope is to include a strong literary component here), 4th and 5th grades will investigate their identity (wants, desires and dreams for the future), and finally Middle Schoolers will concentrate on what  defines their school and community including the role they take on within these contexts.  I have lessons that I'm excited to test out inspired by some of my favorite art educators (Peter London and Olivia Gude), and brand new ideas too. 

Many of my students are wonderful creative and critical thinkers. As I mentioned in my pervious post, I'm making it a goal of mine to focus on classroom management with my students so that the environment can allow for all of them to follow big ideas, ask big questions and continue to have fun! 





Leave a Reply.