It all takes time. It takes time becoming part of a school community, getting to really know students, and understanding what they need. It takes time to build trust and to develop a consistent classroom environment. 

During this year's time, I have gotten to know many students and understand some of the backgrounds they come from.  The interactions I have with students is my favorite part of teaching. It has been exciting getting to know them individually and collectively. Barclay does have challenges they are facing, but what shines through to me is the sense of community among students and most teachers. The willingness to help each other out and move forward. 

What I have given this year in teaching is an awareness of community and structured, comprehensive art problems that connect with the life of the student. I have given my positive 'let's go for it' attitude, and have introduced new opportunities that focus on student individuality and achievement. 

What I have gained this year in teaching is respect and empathy for my students, a broad understanding of the school,  its bureaucracy and current issues that schools are facing throughout Baltimore City. I have gained respect for teachers who teach all day and then teach after school programs. I have solidified my teaching philosophy.  I have gained classroom management strategies and have found the importance of consistency and honesty in teaching. 

It has taken time, but I feel confident that I know Barclay as a school and community. And I will miss my students very much. 

Now, Summer programming! 

This summer I'm teaching three classes and painting a mural at the newly reopened Community Center adjacent to Barclay. Summer art making fun.......Bring It!! 





Leave a Reply.